Archive for November 9th, 2009

Interview: Prof Nicholas Canny, NUIG, and President, Royal Irish Academy

9 November 2009

Interview date: 1 September 2009

cannyWhat book do you wish you had written?
J.H. Elliott, The Old World and the New (Cambridge a long time ago) - initially given as the Wiles Lectures in QUB.

What would you do if you were not a historian?
Make lots of money in business.

When was the last time you looked at wikipedia?
I have never looked at Wikipedia.

What event had the greatest impact on history in Ireland?
If by History you mean the writing of History I would say Read More

Interview: Dr Kate O’Malley, Assistant Editor, Documents on Irish Foreign Policy project

9 November 2009

Interview date: 21 May 2009

kateomalleyWhat book do you wish you had written?
Any Harry Potter book. (Not that I’ve read them, so you know what I’m getting at.)

What would you do if you were not working for DIFP?
Teach history at second level or lecture perhaps, but I wouldn’t rule out escaping to the country and opening a rescue home for dogs.

When was the last time you looked at wikipedia?
Last week. (I’m not proud!)

What event had the greatest impact on history in Ireland?
Oh wow… that’s very broad!  As a modernist, I guess I’d have to say the Civil War. Like a lot of people in Ireland, I have family members who fought on both sides Read More


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers