Pue’s Recommendations for October

womansHeadJuliana Adelman I think all the papers and literary prize givers have beat me to this recommendation, but I am reading Leviathan, or the whale by Philip Hoare at the moment and it deserves every bit of praise received.  It’s a lovely combination of history, natural history, literary criticism and memoir.  I’ve also started reading another history blog, ‘A Historian’s Craft’, written by Cambridge PhD student Rachel Leow.

Lisa-Marie Griffith I haven’t made my final choice just yet, but I have to get to a play at this years Ulster Bank Dublin Theatre Festival. I went to the Edvard Munch Prints exhibition on Monday at the National Gallery and was pleasantly surprised to discover that all exhibitions are free on a Monday. I’m not sure if this is new or I have missed it previously!

Kevin O’Sullivan Halloween paraphernalia on the shelves and time wasted searching the paper for something to fill dark evenings when you should be checking out our weekly TV and radio guide. Here’s a few highlights: In Our Time is back on BBC Radio 4; the last part of Kevin McCloud’s Grand Tour is on Channel 4 this Sunday (11 October); and ‘A Word With’ The Economist has an interesting take on the reconstruction -v- conservation debate raging on Skellig Michael.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Pue’s Recommendations for October”

  1. Juliana Says:

    I should add that I went to see The Birds in the Gate over the weekend and it is superb! The first ten minutes I wasn’t sure if it was going to work, but by intermission I was on the edge of my seat. Truly creepy. A fantastic performance by Sinead Cusack. Not sure how many tickets are still available but definitely try:

    http://www.dublintheatrefestival.com/programme/display.asp?Eventid=336&m=

Leave a Reply

