Top five: Things to do in Dublin this Summer

By Lisa Marie Griffith

So like many others, I am confined to Dublin for the summers and I will not be embarking on a summer vacation abroad, although I will get to Cork for the July bank holiday weekend. I have been compiling a list of things to do in the capital for my summer (things to drag my poor boyfriend to really) and thought I would share my top 5 with you.

1. Slattery’s Sago Saga: I am a huge Flann O’Brien fan so I am really looking forward to the performance of Slattery’s Saga Saga. Described as ‘One part carnival, one part surreal satire’ this play is being performed at Rathfarnham Castle. Adapted by Arthur Riordan for the stage, it is based on Flann O’Brien’s final and unfinished novel.

2. Death of a Salesman at Gate. I saw Arthur Miller’s All My Sons at the Gate last year and it was very enjoyable so I am looking forward to this.

3. Irish High Cross exhibition at the National Museums of Ireland, Collins Barracks. This exhibition opened 1st of July and explores the tradition, significance and art work of the Irish high cross and explains the importance of these crosses to early christian communities.

4. Films on the Square. I am a big film fan and try to make it along to at least one film in Meeting House Square every summer.

5. Revisit the Caravaggio at the National Gallery. On loan to the National Gallery from the Jesuit Community of Dublin, ‘The Taking of Christ’ was part of an exhibition in Rome this year and has just been returned to the NGI.

Tell us about your summer! Pue’s Occurrences would like you to submit reviews of plays, productions, exhibitions, museums, events and cultural activities you have encountered in Ireland or even internationally over the summer. You can email us at puesoccurrences@gmail.com

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Top five: Things to do in Dublin this Summer”

  1. Felix Larkin Says:

    If confined to Dublin for the summer, why not visit the Parnell Summer School at Avondale, near Rathdrum, Co. Wicklow from 8 to 13 August? The theme this year is GOTHCHA! THE ROLE OF THE MEDIA IN POLITICS AND SOCIETY. Speakers include John Horgan, Chris Morash, Myles Dungan and Mark Little. If I may indulge in a little self-publicity, I will be speaking on the Wednesday (11 August) on PARNELL, POLITICS AND THE PRESS IN IRELAND. You don’t have to go for the full week, but can sign up for individual days. Avondale is a beautiful setting and, if the weather is good, you can always skip a lecture or two and go for a lovely walk in the parkland or forest. See http://www.parnellsociety.com for full details.

  2. C.Flower Says:

    Thanks for the nice list – and Felix for the suggestion – I have posted this on Politicalworld.org to inspire our members.

  3. Ronan L Says:

    Hi, great list, thanks!

  4. thelittlereview Says:

    I went to see an exibition of Cuban artist Carlos Garaicoa in the IMMA at the weekend – really interesting and thought provoking. If you are interested in modern art and architecture, or even in being made to reflect a little on the nature of cities, I would definitely recommend it. http://thelittlereview.wordpress.com/2010/07/18/bricks-books-and-paper-how-to-build-a-city/

  5. puesoccurrences Says:

    Thanks for the tip Little Review!
    I have also heard great things about ‘Biorythm’ exhibition at the Science Gallery and I am heading along on Thursday. http://www.sciencegallery.com/biorhythm
    They have had some reeally excellent exhibitions since they opened and are doing some really great work.
    Lisa

  6. puesoccurrences Says:

    I went to Slattery’s Sago Saga last weekend and I have to mention how much I enjoyed it. Unfortunatley they had only a short run of 2 weeks but I would thoroughly recommend it if they run it again.
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

