Pue’s Recommendations for July

Juliana Adelman I seem to be having a little thing for maps at the moment.  I just picked up a copy of Rebecca Solnit’s new book Infinite city: a San Francisco atlas which contains maps that would surprise even the post-modern geographer.  You can see them on her website.  I have previously read and loved her Book of migrations: some passages in IrelandOn the lookout for nautical charts for my pirate-obsessed son, I stumbled across the US Coast Survey’s site.  It’s a little clunky to navigate, but you can download thousands of hi-res images of historical maps for FREE.  Yes, free (OSI please take note).  Finally, I am excited that the National Library of Ireland is to open a new cafe starting this week.  I am hoping the food improves and the prices go down.  Is that too much to ask?

Lisa Marie Griffith With exams behind me I am looking forward to spending a summer peacefully reading and researching in the library and in preparation for a course next year I am about to begin George Rude, The Crowd in History: A study of Popular disturbances in France and England, 1730-1848. Despite having splurged on some course books on Amazon recently I have also managed to make it to  the Hodges Figgis book sale to pick up some bargains. Hardback copies of Tom Garvin’s Judging Lemass can be picked up for just 15 euro! I have just returned from Havana where you simply can not ignore Ernest Hemingway’s influence on the city, or at least tourist industry so I have managed to pick up some of his books for just 4.50 in vintage classics. I have a feeling that a quiet summer of reading is going to go all too quickly…

Christina Morin Recently I discovered the wonderfulness that is Lapham’s Quarterly. I don’t know how it bypassed me for so long, but I’m glad to have found it! The Summer 2011 issue is titled simply ‘Food’, and it presents a fascinating collection of historical tidbits about the weird and wonderful world of eating. So, for instance, feast your eyes on (sorry – couldn’t resist!) the 1746 Parisian account, ‘What the Dead Ate’, or the firsthand 1910 account of force-feeding suffragettes in Liverpool. Incredible stuff! I’d like to say that I’ve finished all the reading I talked about in last month’s recommendations. Alas, I’ve really only added to the list. In particular, I’m looking forward to reading Diane Long Hoeveler’s Gothic Riffs: Secularizing the Uncanny in the European Imaginary, 1780-1820.

Kevin O’Sullivan In the spirit of Lisa’s Cuba-themed recommendations last month, I’ve been stocking up on books for a trip to the western United States. Top of the pile is Larry McMurtry’s Lonesome Dove, but I’ve also snuck in Hemingway’s Spanish civil war novel, For Whom the Bell Tolls. When I get back, I really must drop in to the exhibition of Henri Matisse’s art books at the Chester Beatty Library, Dublin. Looks great. Speaking of which – if, like me, you’re a believer in great book design, then Our Daily Bread, a history of Barron’s bakery in Cappoquin, Co. Waterford, that I came upon recently is well worth the look. Interesting piece of social history too. Finally, six months into 2011 I’m sure that most of the resolutions are dead, but have a glance at this scan of Woody Guthrie’s hand-written ‘New Year’s Rulins’ from some time in the early 1940s. Sample: ‘Help win war – beat fascism.’

4 Responses to “Pue’s Recommendations for July”

  1. bjg Says:

    OSI historic maps
    =============
    You can look at the OSI’s Historic 6″ (~1840s) and Historic 25″ (~1900s) maps free online and save screenshots. But the OSI will go further. I asked for permission to use extracts (historic maps only) in talks and on my website. I was prepared to pay for a licence but OSI granted me permission free of charge, provided I gave due acknowledgement. They were even open to discussion about how I could do that without undue bureaucracy. I found them very helpful.

    The first page on which I’ve used map extracts is about Saleen Pier in Co Kerry, to the development of which Trinity College contributed money: http://irishwaterwayshistory.com/abandoned-or-little-used-irish-waterways/the-lower-shannon/the-piers-quays-and-harbours-of-the-shannon-estuary/saleen-quay/

    I appreciate, of course, that if I want to use extracts in a book I’ll have to negotiate a separate permission.

    bjg

  2. Juliana Says:

    Yes, the OSI does offer some free historical maps. However, you cannot download the entire scanned map for free at high resolution. And the coverage is only 1841 and 1900. While better than nothing, it’s not exactly stellar for a digital age.

    Thanks for note, though!
    Juliana

  3. Felix Larkin Says:

    Mention of Rudé’s THE CROWD IN HISTORY prompts me to recommend a recent Irish book on a similar theme, RIOTOUS ASSEMBLIES: RIOTS, REBELS & REVOLTS IN IRELAND, edited by William Sheehan & Maura Cronin and published by Mercier Press.
    It comprises thirteen papers which were first given at a conference held in Mary Immaculate College, Limerick, in September 2009. The earliest protest that is mentioned is one against the billeting of solders in Waterford in 1577; the most recent is the Shell-to-Sea campaign in Rossport, Co. Mayo. Others include the Tithe Riots in the 1830s, riots in Limerick city throughout the 19th century and the Belfast riots of August 1969. There is, however, no essay about the 18th century – a surprising omission, especially as Ireland’s first Riot Act dates from 1789.
    The editors claim that the study of protests can help us recover the voices of “ordinary” people in history. Their voices are seldom heard since the records that survive from the past are largely concerned with elites, with great events and with political and social movements of enduring significance. This echoes the main thrust of Rudé’s seminal work.
    A common theme running through all thirteen papers is that the grievances of protestors usually relate to some initiative by government that threatens their economic or other interests. The protest is thus undertaken to defend existing privileges, rather than to acquire new ones. This tends to confirm Edmund Burke’s dictum that “general rebellions and revolts of a whole people … are always provoked”. There are lessons in that for our current political leaders.

  4. Pue’s recommendations for August « Pue's Occurrences Says:

    […] world on a trip to the north-western United States laid my best-made reading plans to rest (see last month’s recommendations). But the experience of man’s (managed) relationship with the wilderness in Wyoming – […]

Leave a Reply

